kids' poem, poem, poetry

‘Half A Martha’

(Written for my god-daughter)

2013-05-tt-10-rm-gold-bars-300x200-ss-000020246710Large

 

“Half a Martha’s worth more than all of
The money in the world combined
Then squared”, I bluff
(Maths baffles my mind).
“Is that all?” Martha asks
And starts doing her own sums
Counting her noses, toes,
Fingers and thumbs.
“Am I worth more than gold?”
Oh, at least that, I say.
So she Googles the value of
Gold bullion today.
Then she drags out the bathroom scales
To compare
And decides, to be sure,
I should join her on there.
“Look at that, fatso!
We’re right off the scale!”
And off bounces Martha
The beyond-priceless girl.

Standard

Leave a Reply

